A BRUTAL BETRAYAL BLOG TOUR AND GIVEAWAY FROM D.C. RENEE. *5 STAR READ*


 

Title: A Brutal Betrayal

Author: DC Renee

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: October 1, 2014

 

Past. Everyone has one. It shapes the person they become. It determines the present. It even contributes to the future. And sometimes, people are thrown together in spite of it.

 

It was no secret that Megan Verona was raped. It crippled her being, turning her from a vibrant young woman to someone who feared intimacy. After years of struggling, she decided to seek help with a therapist, Declan Connors, in hopes of being able to finally have a relationship. Declan wanted to help Megan; he wanted to help everyone who sought his aid, but she was different. She consumed his thoughts until he could no longer deny his feelings. He hadn’t expected to fall for her and fall hard, but he did. It was a wonder when she returned some of his sentiment. But, like everyone, Declan also has a past, one riddled with pain and anguish, one he hadn’t fully dealt with.

 

If helping Megan brought out his own shadows, what did loving her do? How do both their pasts play a role in their future? Most importantly, can they conquer the past that threw them together?

 

 

 This is one of those books that comes out of nowhere, clobbers you over the head and leaves you wondering, “What just happened?”  I still don’t think that I have recovered from all the plot twists and turns from this story.  DC Renee has done a stellar job of writing a story that will leave you in knots, shock you and leave you an emotional mess.  I am trying really hard not to give any spoilers away but trust me when I say that you are going to want to devour this book.  There are some parts that are difficult to read and are cringe-worthy but so necessary to the story.  There is a MAJOR plot twists that had me freaking out.

I loved the characters in this book.  Megan is a survivor. She is strong and brave.  She is one of those characters that you feel very protective of.  Megan has had to overcome a horrific past and she is starting to with the help of Declan, her therapist.  Declan is the ultimate book boyfriend. Strong, caring, sensitive.  Declan falls for Megan in a big way but the secrets from his past could destroy any hope of his future.

I can’t describe how amazingly good this book was.  It has an addictive story line, strong characters, infallible writing and leaves you a complete mess but only in the best way.  Bonus points for there not be a cliffhanger ending.  This book was absolutely delicious.  I think I may have to re-read it immediately!!!!!!!

5 out of 5 stars.

 

 

 

 

About me, huh? Hmmm, let’s see…some fun facts: I’m in my late twenties, I’m married to a great guy who likes to drive me crazy sometimes, but I love it and him, I am one of those people that when asked to do something says “No…Yes” (yeah, I know, I’m stuck in the 90’s), I am a total nerd (like you couldn’t tell), I am a Trojan (Fight On!), I work in health insurance (fun times-well, I actually work with my sis, so I guess they technically are fun times), I am way too close to my fam and I feel like I’m forgetting something, hmm…oh yeah, I LOVE to read and write!!!

Leave a Reply

