SEPTEMBER 11, 2014


I can’t believe that it has been 13 years since this tragedy happened.  I remember everything about that day.  I was sitting in the living room watching tv as I folded clothes when the second plane hit the towers. When I went to work that night, there was complete silence.  Everyone was in shock and disbelief. Most of my coworkers were around my age and this was the first real atrocity that we had witnessed.  No one was speaking or even looking at each other.  By a freak coincidence, the lights went out that night and when they finally came back on, everyone was crying.  it was if the darkness had given us permission to let out our emotions.  Even to this day, I can remember the firefighters and policemen running into the collapsing and burning buildings in order to save people.  I remember ash and paper raining unto the streets like some type of morbid confetti. The collective gasps as the buildings began to collapse.  Even from hundreds of miles away you could smell the fear.  But I also remember the bravery, humanity, love and sacrifice that were on display that day.  Strangers helping each other no matter their race, sex, or religion.  13 years have gone by in the blink of an eye but the brave men and women who sought nothing more than to help those in need with no thoughts to themselves will never be forgotten.  On September 11, 2011, we witnessed the worst of humanity but we also witnessed the best and we found out what truly makes this country amazing.

Leave a Reply

